Posted on

You’re all probably wondering why I haven’t been posting much this week. Well, for one I need a new bottle to review. The other reason is I’ve been a busy man, working a couple jobs a day while continuing my never-ending search for a real job. Added to all that is the fact that it’s been so hot that typing makes me sweat. Seriously, I’m worried my sweat is going to short out my keyboard. This week I was fortunate enough to catch a great live music act though, and hence this post.

I first saw the Carolina Chocolate Drops last summer as part of the Prescott Park Summer Concert Series in Portsmouth, NH. Well, Wednesday I relived that experience. Great beer and food with my old man at the Portsmouth Brewery lubricated our ears for the experience as usual, and the cool breeze rolling off the Piscataqua made being outside tolerable. The band was, as remembered, a great live act–they played that good down home old-time music with not only incredible talent and versatility, but with energy, soul, and a great understanding of the music’s history, which they did not hesitate to share with the audience. They’re not only showmen, they’re ethno-musicologists who can play everything from rags, jigs, and blues to Gaelic songs. If you ever get the chance to see this band live, do it, you won’t regret it. If not, I’ve attached a nice long video so you can get a bit of the experience for yourself.

Leave a Reply

